How do I install the Synergy keyboard sharing program on Hardy Heron Linux?

I just installed Hardy Heron, Ubuntu’s new version of Linux, on one of my computers.

This computer has the keyboard and mouse.  I need to install the Synergy keyboard and mouse sharing program on this machine.

I have never used Linux before.  I don’t know how to install a program of any kind in any way on Linux.

Accordingly I ask the general public: How do I install Synergy on Ubuntu Hardy Heron?

Incidentally, I saw  two herons the other day on the way to work.

I suppose I will also be wanting instructions on how to install SL under Linux.

3 Responses to “How do I install the Synergy keyboard sharing program on Hardy Heron Linux?”

  1. andre Says:

    apt-get install synergy

    then

    sudo synergyc xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    (Sudo seems to clear a problem people have)

    Alternatively, if you want a gui, just do

    apt-get install quicksynergy

    and then

    sudo quicksynergy

  2. Sue Baskerville (SuezanneCB) Says:

    This post is a bit old now.

    Just getting Synergy installed in the sense of it being on the hard drive wasn’t much problem.

    However, getting it installed so that it runs at startup is a good bit more involved than the steps described above.

    The GUI program mentioned does not make Synergy run at boot time.

    The instructions for getting Linux to run in the automated way I want are complex and assume the user knows what they are doing.

    Since Second Life doesn’t work properly under Linux with the ATI Linux drivers, there’s not much of a motive to explore it further unless I hear some report of a better driver coming along.

  3. Oliver Says:

    I would use quicksynergy… after a little poking around I was able to get it to work – thank goodness for GUIs, There isn’t much documentation out there that I could find but its pretty self explanatory. I had trouble with the host names & ip addresses. After I switched the server to an IP and the client to a host name it seemed to work fine.


Leave a Reply

