Flock: I’m tired of having to copy the Flash dll etc. files in to the right directoryl

The Flock browser doesn’t seem to be able to deal with installing Flash properly.

If I’m smart enough to find and copy the appropriate files then the Flock browser ought to be too.

It seems like I’ve done this on this install of Flock but I do so much similar stuff all the time it all becomes a blur.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Flock: I’m tired of having to copy the Flash dll etc. files in to the right directoryl”

  1. Jen Anderberg Says:

    Hi Sue,

    A co-worker tipped me off to your site, so I thought I’d write you directly to see what the problem is. Hopefully I can help from there!

    Flock automatically installs Flash when it is installed by you. Can you tell me what happens after Flock is installed or when using Flock- does Flash not play, or is a warning given that a plugin is missing?

    I was also wondering if you’re using Linux or Mac or PC? If you could give me some clear repro steps, I can go to one of the senior developers here and get this figured out. Thanks so much!

    Jen Anderberg
    Community Support Lead
    jen at flock dot com

  2. Sue Baskerville (SuezanneCB) Says:

    This in Windows XP SP2.

    Flash does not play. The Flash plugin files don’t appear in the proper folder. Thus Flash does not play.

    Flash works if you manually copy the needed files.

    This is with Flock 1.1.2. This also happened with 1.1.1 and the other preceding versions.

    This thread at http://flock.com/node/59761 seems to describe the problem.

    This thread also concerns this: http://flock.com/node/61338 .

    What happens is

    Install Flock.

    Go to a site with content that makes a message appear that says you need to install Flash.

    Follow the instructions to install Flash.

    Flash in not installed. The needed files don’t appear in the correct folder.

    Thanks for the response.

  3. Jen Anderberg Says:

    Hi there,

    Thanks for getting back to me. You’re very welcome for the response.

    I’ve been asking around to the senior developers around here and they seem to think that the problem may be with the Adobe installer, not us.

    There is a bug here that you can see: Flock Bugzilla

    As mentioned in the bug, I was also wondering if you have any other Mozilla programs installed: Firefox, Thunderbird, Netscape? Please let me know and we can go from there.

    Thanks again,
    Jen Anderberg
    Flock Community Support

  4. Sue Baskerville (SuezanneCB) Says:

    I have Firefox, Thunderbird, and Seamonkey. I have multiple versions of Firefox, both FF2 and Firefox 3 betas.

    I have the remnants of previous versions in addition to currently installed versions.

    It wouldn’t surprise me at all if something got confused by the mess of current and old mozilla stuff on my machine.

    There’s probably an old Netscape Navigator from the version 4 days still on it.

    The bug report does seem to describe the problem accurately. The workaround works.

    I’ve just installed Linux on my other machine and since you’ve pointed out that Flock is available on Linux I will get get to try it on Linux before too long.

    Got to get the Synergy keyboard and mouse sharing thing going before doing a Flock Linux install.

    Lest there be any confusion, the problem I am describing occurs on a Windows XP Home SP2 machine.

  5. Jen Anderberg Says:

    Hi again,

    Thanks for the information, as far as we can tell you are correct — all the Mozilla installations may have caused some interference. Glad to hear the bug report helped.

    It sounds like you have manually fixed it, and it’s working now, so thank you for doing that. Please let me know if that’s not the case.

    Also, please let me know how it goes in Linux. There should be no issues, but it’s nice to get feedback. If you have any questions or concerns in the future, you can contact me directly at jen at flock dot com

    Thanks again, Jen
    Community Support Lead
    @ Flock

  6. Hashim Warren Says:

    Flash doesn’t work for me either in Flock. I was looking for an answer on stumbled on this blog post.

    Help!

    hashimwarren@gmail.com

  7. Sue Baskerville (SuezanneCB) Says:

    If you read the links I provided above that mention this problem you will see that a solution is mentioned in one of the threads:

    “You must have Firefox installed or download the files from some place:
    1- Install the Shockwave plugin on Firefox.
    2- Copy the folder from Program Files/Mozilla Firefox/Plugins to Program Files/Flock/flock/plugins.”


Leave a Reply

