The Hipihi company gives its users the finger.

The Hipihi company has given its users the finger. To be more accurate, it’s given each of them ten fingers.

The fingers the users have received are attachment points, parts of the avatar body to which a virtual world object can be attached, or in Hipihi-English parlance, mounted.

Hipihi- arm attachment points - ten fingers

The Hipihi company has not only given it’s users ten fingers, it’s also given them upper arms, elbows, forearms, wrists, and hands, and a bunch more attachment points on other body parts.

Hipihi now has the capacity for user created textures for objects like houses and furniture, user created textures for clothing, user created objects made from parametric prims, user modifiable pre-made objects, and user created custom animations. The custom textured, custom made objects can be attached to the avatars to create object-style costume pieces for humanoid avatars, like helmets and armor, or to create robots, animals, cartoon characters, etc.

With each finger having one attachment point, I bet users won’t take too long to start asking for separate attachment points for each joint. That’s just the way users are, eh?

Here I am with a few objects attached to upper arm, forearm, and skull.

Below is an avatar made by someone more skillful than me:

Hipihi - a rabbit with a plunger

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Hipihi company gives its users the finger.”

  1. annyka Says:

    it sounds cooler every time I hear about it.

    btw, is that default clothing? It looks really good

  2. Sue Baskerville (SuezanneCB) Says:

    I think that might be default clothing. I’ve seen a number of people in it.

    I seem to start out in jeans and a shirt, an outfit that’s also worn by the male avatars.

    I have not made any clothes of my own yet, although I have downloaded the clothing templates and taken a look at them. That’s a lot easier than actually making an outfit.

    In this latest version, I am as yet unable to see anyone’s chat, a new problem for me. I have posted in the forums.hipihi.com about it, but I guess I should take a few more steps, namely, writing to support@hipihi.com, for starters, that’s the official procedure to follow. I’m not sure if that gets handled by a fluently bilingual person or not though.

    I should also post about this problem in the third party forum at http://www.ideashape.cn, started by a person who, among other names, is known as Jolly Heron in the Second Life virtual world.

    Another place to post questions about and present problems with Hipihi is the facebook Hipihi group which I started and which has two Hipihi personnel in it among the other members.

    Hipihi has a volunteer group, and some of the folks in that are bilingual, and that would be a good place to seek help with problems.


Leave a Reply

